Ronald Reagan on Health Care

“Here again the principle of subsidiarity must be respected….By intervening directly and depriving society of its responsibility, the Social Assistance State leads to a loss of human energies and an inordinate increase of public agencies, which are dominated more by bureaucratic ways of thinking than by concern for serving their clients, and which are accompanied by an enormous increase in spending. In fact, it would appear that needs are best understood and satisfied by people who are closest to them and who act as neighbours to those in need.” (John Paul II, From Centesimus Annus, Encyclical on 100th anniversary of Rerum Novarum, 1991)

3 Responses to Ronald Reagan on Health Care

  1. Bill Wineke says:

    Freedom is a great thing. I learned today that one of my parishioners will go bankrupt soon because she had an unexpected illness that struck her on Dec. 31, thus leaving her liable to pay $10,000 deductible for 2009 and another $10,000 for 2010. It was the best insurance she could find.

  2. mercyknight says:

    Yes … there is 100% agreement that we need insurance reform.

  3. John Knoefler says:

    Bill that’s so sad for her. Since I am unemployed because of the massive mexican invasion and I can’t afford health care anyway how will forcing me to buy health care when I get a job help me? And I suppose they will use the money to pay for your sick parishioner? Or they will make some college kids pay for it? Your parishioner will day anyway. So what if she is bankrupt. She won’t be paying her bills. She can mortgage her house. But why burder the private sector with her bills? Sorry but I rebell. I will file excempt on this like Obama said I could. I opt out. You suckers can pay for this. And then us excempt people will laugh when you can’t even use what you paid for.

Leave a Reply

