Should I raise my hands at Mass during the Our Father?

From Reverend Know-it-all:

Dear Rev. Know-It-All,

I was distressed this past Sunday when the priest celebrating Mass that I attend forbad people to raise their hands at the Our Father. Only the priest should raise his hands in prayer. He was very insistent and I am very confused. Was he correct in saying this? 

Joy Buzkil

 

Dear Joy,

Perhaps this particular priest is a liturgist. I am sure you have heard the question asked, “What is the difference between a liturgist and a terrorist? You can negotiate with a terrorist.” Enough levity. 

Actually, there is a point behind your priest’s inflexibility, but often, especially when I stick my nose in, a simple question has a long answer. Here goes. 

Being of advanced age, I remember when the radical changes in the liturgy were introduced in the mid sixties. It was the era of the Red Guard in China, the hippies in California and the liturgists in the Catholic Church. It seemed that every week we were putting the altar in a position and the placement of the tabernacle was a game of “Where’s Waldo?”  

There were clown Masses, there were polka Masses, there were flamenco Masses. They consecrated bagels and doughnuts and often the wine at Mass was port or Mogen David. I suspect that months went by in some places without a valid (real) Mass being celebrated. Feminist groups would have feminist Masses in which milk was used instead of wine. It was a glorious springtime of weirdness. 

And the churches pretty much emptied out because the more exciting they tried to make things, the more boring they became. 

The most striking thing about Catholic worship, once upon a time, was the amazing reverence that Catholics showed for the presence of God. In the noise of the world, a Catholic Church was place of dignity and stillness in which it seemed almost possible to breathe God in like air. 

As the world got louder, some people flinched. They thought, “Well, we have to keep up with the world. Heaven forbid that young people should be bored, they might leave the church!” 

Well, guess what! We made it more exciting and young people all left anyway. 

The most important word in the Catholic vocabulary at the time was “relevant.”   How could we make Mass relevant? It is wisely said that he who marries the spirit of the age soon finds himself widowed. The world moved on and many in the church stayed firmly rooted in the sixties. At this point that’s almost fifty years ago. I get a big kick out people who want to sing modern songs in church. Some of the songs they think of as new are forty years old. 

What does this tirade have to do with your question? I’m almost there. 

In the midst of all this excitement and grooviness there appeared the PENTECOSTAL MOVEMENT (you may know it by it’s current moniker Charismatic renewal). Believe it or not the Rev. Know-it-all was and is an ardent devotee of Pentecostal spirituality. I’m not so sure about the Charismatic renewal, but that’s a story for another day.  

At the heart of the Pentecostal experience is a joyful encounter with the Holy Spirit, though some would say it’s not the third person of the Trinity that Charismatics encounter. I suppose it depends entirely on the circumstances. Still, the response to the encounter was commonly a renewed joy in prayer and a spontaneous lifting of the hands in abandonment to God. 

When one of these renewed people would go to Mass, surprise! There was the Holy Spirit, and they tended to react in the joyful exuberance of the prayer meeting. The priest raised his hands in prayer, just like at prayer group and so up would go the arms! 

The Pentecostal movement went begging for authentic Catholic teaching and what they got was clown Masses and pop theology. They drifted in and out of some very anti-Catholic circles and pretty much lost the understanding of what Mass is, as did just about everybody else on planet earth. 

We decided that Mass, being the most important thing in the life of the church was the only thing. One would get requests for Mass in the strangest places. “Father, we just got new carpeting in the pre-school. Could you come over and bless it by saying a Mass? The children would just love it.”  So one would try to say Mass on a two foot tall table while trying to entertain some sugar-crazed four-year-olds.  An octogenarian nun beamed and played folk music on an un-tuned guitar. Ah, the sixties, when we were young and as dumb as a bag of door knobs! 

Where was I? Oh yes. 

The Catholic Church had lots of wonderful ceremonies. We had benedictions and novenas and processions and vigils and pilgrimages and lots of swell stuff, but Mass was Mass was Mass.  It still is.

But, Mass became the community business meeting, the kindergarten graduation, the dedication ceremony for the new gym and on and on. 

Mass is the un-bloody restatement of the covenant of Calvary, nothing less and nothing more. 

If I’m not mistaken, in the ancient days of my youth, we didn’t have Mass along with Confirmation. Confirmation was a sacrament and stood on its own. Strictly speaking, weddings were performed without Mass, though they were usually followed immediately by a Mass of thanksgiving. 

(ATTENTION: HERE COMES MY POINT)

All this is said to make the point that Mass is not a prayer meeting. 

It is a very precise presentation of the covenant between God and man. 

It might be marvelously appropriate to raise your hands at the prayer meeting, but Mass is not a prayer meeting. It is not me and Jesus; it is Christ and His bride. In the traditional understanding, the priest stands in for Christ who raises his hands interceding for his bride. That is the tradition. Sacred tradition doesn’t change. Human traditions do. I don’t know that the raising of the priest’s hands alone is sacred tradition. We’ll see. 

It’s smart to change even human traditions slowly and thoughtfully when and if they need change. Most of the experiments of the sixties were abysmal failures. If we learned nothing else from the springtime of weirdness, it is that we should probably look before we leap. 

So, the answer to your question, “Should we raise our hands at the Our Father,” is “Probably not.” It’s not our tradition. I’ve even begun to think, old Pentecostal Catholic that I am, of believing we should have prayer meetings in the hall, not the church. 

The church building is the throne room of God, a place of profound reverence and, though the whoopie appropriate to a good prayer meeting might be reverent as far as I’m concerned, someone one else might not have the same opinion. It is best to avoid scandal. I love a good prayer meeting with people babbling in Babylonian, dancing in the aisles and swinging from the chandeliers. I just think all that should happen in the parish hall. 

Still, I’m not about to excommunicate you for raising your hands at the Our Father, but don’t get me started on holding hands at the Our Father. That can get creepy.

Rev. Know-It-All

9 Responses to Should I raise my hands at Mass during the Our Father?

  1. Steve says:

    Dear Revd Know-it-all,

    As a relic of sixties weirdness, I like yours.

  2. Josie says:

    I have very mixed feelings about this practice. However, I agree with the phase of Spring Time of Weirdness. I remember the 60’s very well and was at some of those “celebrations” that got very extreme. Thank you for giving me a new slant on this subject.

  3. Pvt. Dani says:

    I really don’t know how many ppl are reading this, I’m guessing that many of them don’t focus only on your mssg of the 60’s.
    With all respect, My teachings are from the Catholic Doctrine. I understand the need to form order. God is order, therefore we should practice order. But let’s not blind ourselves in many manly thoughts, our masses are “The Celebration of the Eucharist”. No more to it! The memory of Jesus when he broke the bread and said to do it in memory of His body, then the wine, to drink it in memory of His blood. It is not a celebration of the priest and the Eucharist… it’s the church, the people celebrating. Remember anything that divides is not of God. This priest is somehow doing just that. We the leaders can’t sugar coat for Him, we have to teach Him to be a better leader. And with the person that asked and is confused, she is also of us, teach her the right way, so in return she can do the same to others. This is the true purpose of God.

    I believe in leaders, but we can’t forget that leaders are still of the world, and they also can make mistakes. It’s hard to find excellent leaders now a days that think of Godly order + the people. They fully wrap themselves in their own thoughts, when in reality the purpose of Jesus visit to the world was to teach to be like Him. Now that’s impossible because He’s perfect, but here’s the thing, the gifts are scattered to all of us, and we need to unite to make it right
    So to that person that asks the question, I’d say read the Bible and you will find many truths.
    If you were taught who the Father and the Son are, then you know of the Spirit. When anyone is in doubt, they need to go far beyond their understanding and ask What would Jesus do and there you will have the answer, it never fails when you know Jesus.
    May God give us all more strength and will to know Him more and more.

  4. j Zahorian says:

    i have understood that since Vatican II the church has recognized that it has failed to emphasize the communal aspect of the mass.
    When we say Our Father and Give us our… it certainly seems communal. To hold hands is to emphasize that we pray as a single people, the Body of Christ rather than as individuals. And what better way can there be to acknowledge awareness of the second of the two greatest commandments as well as recognize that we pray together with the communion of saints.
    When I hold hands with my family at mass, my heart soars with thanksgiving, with love and admiration for God’s plan for me, with the opportunity to treat my neighbor as if Christ himself were standing next to me, with the opportunity to think about softening my hard heart and forgiving my neighbor as Christ clearly wishes I would. The prayer and holding hands has so many layers of meaning; I don’t think we’re incapable of recognizing all of this. In itself it’s a mystery to ponder.

    There is magic and power of the Spirit that is God and man flows from one hand to another; holding hands is a silent and joyful acknowledgment that Christ is both God and Man. When the Spirit flows through me from God and through my neighbor, I experience in a small way the mystery of the Trinity, and each time my faith grows deeper, my love more understanding and my appreciation for God’s plan more enduring. We honor the two great commandments by holding hands and saying the prayer: we worship and love God and acknowledge our neighbor as we pray together with the communion of saints in heaven. Maybe this is not what I’m supposed to get, I am no theologian or liturgist, but it’s overwhelming for me to pray and hold hands, to raise my arms and acknowledge that I am part of God’s priestly people. It’s an experience that whacks me on the side of the head each Sunday.

    I am told by my children that this practice of holding hands is a Protestant idea. God speaks in strange ways. Finally, do you seriously think God is going to be upset if we hold hands or not? Sometimes I think we forget the real purpose of the mass and get all tangled up in the details. Not that the details aren’t important, but details are details. Maybe my approach is too lax?

  5. black friday itouch…

    [...]Should I raise my hands at Mass during the Our Father? « Mary’s Anawim[...]…

  6. Anna Mary says:

    I am in the opposite delemma. I have moved to a new state, and with a new church. During the Our Father the entire church raises hands, I feel very uncomfortable doing this. So I don’t! I hope I am not being judged by my fellow parishioners.

  7. I really like what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the great works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

  8. Chassidy says:

    Amazing issues here. I am very satisfied to look your article.
    Thank you a lot and I’m having a look ahead to touch you. Will you please drop me a mail?

  9. KC says:

    Personally I am a bit of a germaphobe during cold and flu season, and don’t care for holding or shaking hands. For immune compromised individuals and/or those on chemo therapies this can be not a phobic issue, but a real issue. Just saying. God bless.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

